Just a Lil’ Update

12 Feb

I just wanted to update everyone on what is going on with my music.  I have been writing for a little under two years for my next project.  It could have went a few directions, but out of the three or four ways I could go, one has steadily been there.  The others have blown away like superfluous chaff, unneeded.   I’ve learned a lot about the writing process and about myself in the midst of the process.  Sometimes you have to get rid of all of the scum that rises from your soul, (past experiences, toxic relationships,) in order to get to the gold.  That is what I feel has happened with my writing in the past couple of years.

Gig-wise, I have either been very happy with my gigs or very annoyed by them.  There are cities, as well as venues,  that I really don’t want to play ever again.  And then there are the places that surprise me by how much I love them.  There have been both this year, making things a tiny bit roller-coaster-y, but each experience has definitely taught me different things about performing and how to deal with messy situations when they come up.

This year I’m doing another lighter load of gigs.  I have some things that I want to get done at our farm.  I also want to take time to write some more.  We also have a lot of ballet classes to take our girls to.  

All-in-all, I’m thankful for many things… family, love, & people who believe in me even when I don’t believe in myself, a home, two vehicles, etc.  The list goes on. 

I’ll let you know when something really cool happens!

One Response to “Just a Lil’ Update”

  1. Professor VJ Duke February 12, 2014 at 12:16 pm #

    Focus on the blessings is not always easy; but without a doubt the most important right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,466 other followers

